Julia Child would have been a great blogger!

I  confess, I love Julia Child. I remember her from my adolescent years where on gloomy Saturday afternoons in Bouctouche New Brunswick there was not much to do but watch TV. I would look at her full of intrigue and wonder while she was busy stuffing a chicken or scaling a fish, things my mother would never do of course. I didn't come to enjoy cooking because of her at that time. No, the joy of cooking came to me much later on. But she was such an original woman, full of passion. I could appreciate that. Her level of language and the tone of her voice for which she was also known left an impression on me. Till this day, I have watched her reruns. For many years I would have argued that she was not an American. Julia Child was an educator, a brilliant teacher of classical French cuisine. Although her TV show The French Chef was very popular, she didn't not consider herself first and foremost a chef, but as a  teacher of the trade. She was a very charismatic person always searching for refinement and perfection. She wrote several cooking books, made just as many TV cooking shows, wrote many articles in different mainstream magazines. Hence a great communicator. She helped popularize many new cooking tools  (food blenders, blow torches, egg beaters, ect). William Sonoma, a retailer of cooking and home products, saw their sales increase because of her. She essentially became a very public icon, a well-known figure that was recognized by the Smithsonian Institute and many others. Martha Stewart must have learned a lot from her. I've rediscovered her recently because of the  movie called Julie and Julia starring Meryl Streep. The movie  is based on her life story and that of Julie Powell,  a young woman working in a call center of some sort and going through a major existential crisis. Very well played by Amy Adams, Julie finds an (therapeutic) outlet through a blog she's created and which she uses to talk about her life while experiencing every single recipe found in Julia Child's remarkable and famous Mastering the Art of French Cooking, which took  10 years to write and get published. I also read her recent biography which I got as a birthday gift, My Life in France, a book written by her great-nephew, Alex Prud'homme. Although I enjoyed the movie a lot, it is reading the book that made me fall in total admiration of her. I've been captivated by her rich and extraordinary life story and wish so dearly that I had met her. Unfortunately for Julie Powell (and I can understand her disappointment),  Ms Child might not have understood what the web was all about at the time of her departure. She saw no interest it seems in Julie's project which consisted of blogging as she worked through every single recipe in the cook book over a one year period.  Had she understood how much closer she could have become to her admirorsfansstudents with social media, I'm sure she would have changed her views about blogging. She would have been able to reach even more directly her fan base, which I think would have meant a lot to her. Having recently become a blogger myself (or bloggerette as I am just starting) , I'm trying to imagine Julia Child and what she would have become in a Web 2.0 creative life. Julia Child would have been a great blogger because she loved to write, to share and to teach. She had a great sense of refinement along with a great sense of humour, both great qualities to have as a blogger. She did a full TV show on eggs and named it Elegance with Eggs. No one else could come out with a such an 'authentic' idea. I think she would have been particularly fond of the video podcast options which would have enabled her to reach a wider range of viewers and have them benefit from her cooking classes. She could also have used the Video for live webinars or for some one-to-one interviews with some of the World's great chefs. I could see her using Twitter, not to promote this or that recipe or branded product  like Jamie Oliver and others do, but to provide advice and offer interesting links that deal with French Cuisine  in some form or other. A bit like Tom Peters or Tony Robbins tend to do with their use of Twitter. I can just imagine a tweet of hers starting with: <In preparing your omelette, be sure that it's beautifully flavored.>. or <The secret to making great hollandaise sauce is…>. She would have been such fun to read.  I can't see her using Facebook in any active way. Julia Child was very fond of public television (PBS has a full video collection online of her shows. Click here to view.) and was interested in politics and many other issues that affect our world. I don't think she would not have used social media strickly for commercial reasons. Not that there is anything wrong with that, on the contrary. She just had too much class and was not motivated by money alone. She got her thrill from her art and from transmitting that passion to others. A very rare  type of mentor. Wish I had met her! Wish they were more like her. Julia Child always concluded her shows with Bon Appétit! So I conclude with the hope that you enjoyed my thoughts on her and what she could have been for us in an interactive world. What do you think she would have become in today's interactive age? Which Media do you think she would have used?

Comments
4 Responses to “Julia Child would have been a great blogger!”
  1. Josyan dit :

    I love Julia as well and I, like you, think that she would have used all the social media means available to her so as to reach as many people as possible. That was her style and ultimate intention – n’est ce pas? Julia was a unique breed and those type of people tend to stand out and get entrenched in our social psychies. I’m glad I had the opportunity to see the French Chef all those years ago too. Thanks for your post!

    • How kind of you to leave a message. I know I’m not the only one who appreciated her, but it’s nice to see that I’m not the only one imagining her using all the social media. I just got copy of her biography . Great title. Have a great Fall season!

  2. Debbie Daugherty dit :

    I've been searching the web for information on Julia Child, after having recently seen the movie "Julie and Julia." I never really paid much attention to Julia Child, which is a real shame, because after seeing the movie and reading her book "My Life in France," it has just struck me what a wonderful, delightful woman she was. I've been watching some of her video clips and her personality is absolutely infectious. Thank you for writing about her.

    • Thanks for writing in Debbie. Her book Appetite for Life is also a worthwhile read. Her life was absolutely amazing. She had everything, love, passion, intelligence, etc. A great inspiration.

Laisser un commentaire

  • Inscrivez votre adresse courriel

    Rejoignez 2 autres abonnés

  • octobre 2009
    L M M J V S D
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
